Confessions of an Imaginary Friend

Note to the Reader,

Because I am a person who likes to give credit where credit is due, the idea of this story is not the product of my original thoughts. For a long time, I  was suffering from a severe case of writer’s block, coupled with a need to write . For me, writing is a good way to put my mind at ease. At a total loss for ideas, I went to one of those writing prompt sites and I randomly picked a  prompt that said “You are a child’s imaginary friend……write about it”. Something about this prompt intrigued me, as it was so out of character from the things I usually write about. I got writing, and this is what I came up with. I  must say the experience was fun. I didn’t expect to get that into it.  Anyway, I hope you enjoy it.

Part One-The Good Days

artwork_images_167990_526264_hanspeter-feldmann

I used to know everything about her, which was expected since we were inseparable. Even if she ignored me for her friends, I knew that I had a central role in her life. I slept at the same time she slept, and I woke at the same time she woke. We had a bond like no other, after all I was always there because she wanted me to be. I think that comes with the nature of our relationship, we were one.

I used to sit quietly and watch her eat cookies. Usually those were cookies she had stolen from the cookie jar. Sometimes I ate with her. She was chubby and I was as thin as she dreamt of being.  I was everything she wanted me to be and everything she couldn’t be. She even picked my name out for me, she called me Marlin. She loved my long blonde braids, which she never let me cut. After all, she had short hair. Her mother felt it was easier to manage. She liked my freckles and the frilly purple dress she made me wear every day. She made me wear purple because her favorite color was purple.  I guess, I was there to be everything and everyone she was missing in her life.

There were times we used to talk to the fairies, and times we would snap our magic shoes that flew us into the clouds. The shoes were so magic that only we saw them. We slid across the rainbow on purple unicorns. We flew with our magic shoes to a land where the houses the trees, the grass, and the sky were shades of pink red and purple.   She wanted to go to these places and I didn’t object. She was my best friend, so I did everything she wanted to do.

66_UnicornOfRainbows_Pic

I understood her thoughts, her dreams, and her words like no other person. When her friends at school didn’t understand her, she would talk to me. She told me everything and I understood the true meaning behind every one of her words. When she cried because a girl made fun of her glasses, I told her to stop crying because she had magic glasses that made her see places no one else saw. When a boy in her class gave her a red rose, we both pretended he was prince charming, and when her teacher punished her for talking in class, we didn’t stand against the wall like she instructed her to. Instead, we rode in a glass elevator she built in her mind and we went up to  a land in the clouds where everything was made out of candy.

download

We sometimes pretended we were grownups. We would wear high heels, put a handbag on our shoulder and take her dolls on a ride in her doll carnage across the garden. Of course the garden instantly transformed itself into a supermarket, a grocery store, or any other place the grownups went to. We would also have tea parties in her room. We would sit on the bed and pretend it was a sofa. We would sip invisible tea from the plastic tea cups, but I loved the taste of that tea. It was a world of make believe, I knew that all along, but still I loved our little world.

tea-party-pic

She would sometimes sit me next to her barbies and talk to me as if I was one of them, and at other times I would play with her barbies with her. I was up for anything she wanted to do. She was my only friend, I depended on her for my very existence. I remember the time we transformed the carpet in her room into a magic carpet, and in her mind we flew to the spice markets of Arabia and the cave of Ali Baba and the 40 thieves.

magic-carpet-2

No one knew about our friendship but that was ok. I knew she came from a world where invisible friends were not welcome. Of course I was not invisible to her, but I was to everyone else she knew. So, our friendship was our little secret, where we even developed a way of talking without moving our lips around others.

We were both five back then, but we both turned six on the same day. She had a purple birthday cake, and I was next to her blowing out the candles too. We opened the gifts she got from friends and family . I felt our excitement rise as we tore the papers, strings, and ribbons off new toys. She told me to pretend the gifts were only hers, but I was sure that we will play with them together. She shared with me all her toys. She was such a good kid.

The summer she turned six was also the summer learned how to swim. I enjoyed swimming with her. Whenever she was scared I pushed her into the pool, and so after only three swimming lessons, she was the perfect swimmer. From that point on, we  spent hours in the pool every day. It was a perfect summer. We learned how to ride a bike, and so we spent the hot summer days riding in the back streets near her home. Of course, we changed those streets into an enchanted forest, where we searched  for Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood, and Repunsel . We learned how to jump using a jump rope, and so we jumped together while pretending that the rope was our magic doorway to the never land we heard about in a bedtime story her mother read to us  called called Peter Pan.   It was my favorite summer, but little did I know that it would be the last summer we will swim together, ride bikes together, jump rope together, or travel together on our magic adventures.

School opened in the fall, and things between us were never ever the same.

Peter-Pan-To-Neverland1 (1)

Stay tuned for part two

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

