Another Year Gone By

Posted by dshalabi in 02. Jan, 2013, under society, people, and life in Amman
As we live through the first days of 2013, it is not uncommon for us to pause and think about what we did, what we didn’t do, and what we loved about the year 2012 and what we hated.
I , like most other people, made that analogy and I realized that like most other years 2012 was one filled with high and low points for me on the personal, career, and family level.
However, I will not list all my personal achievements and disappointments in this post. I figure that those who care to know me will know about them already and those who don’t would not be interested.
However, I will talk about what I learned in the last 12 months, especially since I learned lessons of life the hard way. You see 2012 for me was a year in which great people entered my life , but it was also a year where others left it, simply believing that their presence in my life story was no longer necessary.
Whether we like it or not, the people who cross our paths that make us grow up, and 2012 did make me grow up significantly. It made me accept that the people who surround us are like seasons. The part they play in our life story strengthens and dwindles as the months go by. The truth is it is only a selected few that would be there for a lifetime. Only a few people would be in our photos, our memories, and our joys and sorrows. The months of 2012 really forced me to learn how to pause for a long time before calling people friends, and this realization made me want to be less sociable and to realize that having one or two people to talk to and who are worthy of this title is more than enough.
If I were to give this year a main theme it would be “people change”, and I changed a lot.
We sometimes wonder why we, human beings, become more sarcastic, more cynical, and more negative, and we wonder why we look for the negative explanation in anything good. However, I stopped wondering, I think life makes us that way. The shocks we feel make us who we are . They shape the good, the bad, and the ugly in us make us unique. It is the disappointment that makes us arm ourselves with sarcasm, just so we don’t feel disappointed ever again.
Until recently, I used to be someone who demanded explanations and definitions, but now I walk into 2013 not demanding anything at all. I just choose to believe that when something is good it is simply good and when someone is nice to me they are nice to me because I deserve it and more importantly it is because they are nice full stop. I choose to understand that when something is bad it is bad, and that when someone is evil they are evil full stop. There is no recipe or manual out there to make us see the difference .
In life we are all lucky to interact with a mix of the two extremes. Some people lift us up and others bring us down. It is up to us to believe in ourselves and to believe that people hurt us not because we deserve it but because they are bad for us in that moment in time.
I walk into 2013 without looking to understand why some people misbehaved, or why some people ignore the fact that you may have been nice to them some day before choosing to hurt you. The old me used to wonder, how it is possible for some people to walk the earth without guilt once they do something wrong, but the new me learned not to question, or ask, as I learned that the world is full of great people who are nice for no real reason just like those who are bad for no real reason.
So, I say goodbye to 2012 with a greater level of maturity and I welcome 2013 without regrets. I don’t want to make resolutions, because to me resolutions are simply a written reminder of what I didn’t achieve. Instead, I just want to think that whatever is going to happen to us is going to happen. After all, life will always throw things at us and as adults it is up to us to just to deal with it, find good in it, and accept it.
So I just want to take this opportunity to wish you all a Happy Belated New Year
And, I thank you for reading my blog and for believing that my simple words are worth something

Leave a Reply

